Let’s save the ancient Hambach forest!


Dear Prime Minister Armin Laschet,
Dear Federal Minister of the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, Svenja Schulze,
Dear Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, Peter Altmaier,

As we speak, RWE, the multinational energy company, clears the Hambach forest to make way for open-cast mining. If their plan works, chainsaws could soon be set loose and start cutting down trees that have stood for many centuries.

Locals and environmental activists have been protesting these plans for over 5 years in order to protect the Hambach forest, but despite filing numerous complaints, they couldn’t stop RWE.

Through its lignite production in the Rhineland region, the company is responsible for 30% of Germany's CO2 emissions. The Coal Commission, appointed by the German Government will have to decide on the future of coal in Germany.

However, while the phase-out of coal is currently under deliberation by the Coal Commission, RWE is acting unilaterally to wipe out what is now left of the Hambach forest. RWE is thus also delegitimising the Coal Commission. 

The federal government and the government of North-Rhine Westphalia have the power to stop this project, which is hugely damaging for our environment and the climate.

Therefore we urge to:

  • urgently stop the RWE project until the Coal Commission has presented its proposal for phasing-out coal in all of Germany: please ensure that the Hambach forest is protected while negotiations are on the way
  • to protect the rights of activists to peacefully demonstrate for their goals to protect the forest from being torn down to make way for dirty brown coal


The Hambach forest must remain protected!

Yours sincerely,

Who's signing

Florence Députier
Tamás Gamper
Francesco Cuccu'
Julian Wocher
Mihaela Tomić
Petra Gál
Maria-Heleena Matikainen
Lara Petak
Philipp Oslislo
Delfina Żółtowska
Frei Gábor
Lily Abiaad
Valna Ožbolt
Francesco Cecere
Bojan Kahlau
Romain Balteau
Alicia Wachholz
Johanna Stiller
Alice Salerno
simone benedini
Barbara Dias Pais
Anne-Sophie Leens
Noémi Roszkopf
Linnea Petrén
Ildikó Bencze
Marie Verrecchia
Matilda Kohnen
Jenny Krämer
Finya Poppe
Sara Perosa

Will you sign?

Opt in to occasional emails from my national Green party